Golden Princess

30 Passengers have reviewed this ship

  • Excellent

    11
  • Very good

    15
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    2
  • Terrible

    1

Rating summary

  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

30 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Sara H

Contributor

  • 204 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5
Jan 2016

"Loved the Golden Princess"

My family and I travelled on the Golden Princess in January 2016. Our party consisted of myself my husband in our sixties our daughter and son in in their forties and three grandchildren 16, 14 & 9 years old. They was plenty for all age groups and the 9 year old really enjoyed her club and did a program called 'junior chef at sea' which she and a small group decorated a cake with the help of the chef. She received a certificate and hat and apron, this was only $25 Aud. So was well worth it. The older boys did not attend the program's choosing to be with the adults or in the pool. Speaking for myself and my husband we found the food amazing, we had anytime dining and booked everyday at 5.30 and there was always a table for us. We mostly ate together and they always put us on the same big table. Food in the Horizon Court , breakfast and lunch was also very good. Staff were very helpful and even when busy, always a table somewhere at the Horizon Court. Drinks were readily available and plates cleaned away quickly. Our cabin steward was super polite and efficient. In all as a couple we have been on 5 cruises and this has to be one of the favourites.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: January 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Anthony W

Contributor

  • 141 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    5
Apr 2015

"The Renovation Cruise"

This was supposed to be a positioning cruise but it appeared to be more like a renovation cruise. The ship was apparently heading to California for a long awaited update. However Princess decided to start the work during the 31 day cruise. The most serious issues for us were the problems we experienced with our cabin toilet which generally failed to flush for the first five days and at various times later in the cruise. Princess did offer some compensation but it was clearly a fairly widespread issue on this cruise. Not only inconvenient but also a potential health hazard. More generally the works going on included repainting public areas and taking the main pool out of use for three (sea) days, also for repainting. This together with the rather tired appearance of the ship spoiled what would otherwise have been an excellent and really good value cruise. We hope the ship will look much smarter when it comes to be based in Melbourne later this year. On the positive side, we enjoyed the ports of call, particularly in Costa Rica, Nicaragua and Mexico which each came as a very pleasant surprise. We avoided the Princess tours which were generally criticised by other passengers as being too expensive and had no difficulty finding ways to independently entertain ourselves in each port.. An area that particularly impressed was the overall standard of the food and we were surprised at the consistent criticism of other passengers. The steakhouse experience was excellent and generally the dining room meals were fine. Also the pizzas were pretty good. Sometimes food in the buffet could have been hotter but this is a normal criticism of buffets. Also the chefs there were brilliant at assisting my wife who had particular dietary requirements. Entertainment on cruise ships is very much a matter of personal taste and our view on this cruise was that it was varied - some acts very good, some terrible. We have to say that the Cruise Director did not appeal to us and did not seem to add much value to the cruise. Other members of his staff seemed to offer far more (especially Jamie) and they organised a good range of activities. Embarkation in Buenos Aires was a little tedious and disembarkation was no better in Los Angeles, not helped by a late arrival and delays in delivering the luggage. Overall, this was a very enjoyable cruise but could have been even better if only Princess would pay more attention to detail (lots of little things - eg playing a movie without turning the disco music off).

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: Mediterranean
  • Sailed: February 2015
Contributor image placeholder

Barry H

Contributor

  • 100 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    4
Jan 2016

"over 70 years cruise"

Very good and enjoyed the trip with good food ,.Cabin Staff were top of the marks. I would like another cruise but on a pension we and others have find the cost out of a small money income. With our good weather meant enjoying the outside for many hours talking to some senior officers. As a mental break and great company is felt very relaxed. thanks to all. BH

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: November 2015
Contributor image placeholder

Janice P

Contributor

  • 96 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    5
Apr 2017

"Our eighth cruise, my husband's last"

We had a wonderful time as it was my husband's birthday cruise, little knowing that within five weeks of returning he would have passed away. Port Arthur was his most interesting place. He was appalled at the conditions the prisoners were kept in. It was a sobering time for him to hear their stories. I wanted to visit it all again and take my mother this time as she has never been to Tasmania and is now a sprightly 91 year old.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: February 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Francis B

Contributor

  • 92 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 5 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4
Jun 2014

"Alaska Cruise"

This was our first cruise. We were very happy overall with the cruise. The only issue we had was with the pressure selling and sales hype. We attended a shopping session on day 1 thinking they would be telling us about the ports etc that we were to visit but not so it was to sell a book of vouchers, it was incredible to see the hype and clamouring from passengers to buy these for and exorbitant fee(we felt). We were speaking to a couple a few days later and they said they couldn't understand why they bought one. Also all the ports we called at were built and we felt owned by the cruise companies. but all in all it was a lovely trip. The staff were delightful and very helpful.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: Alaska
  • Sailed: August 2013
Facebook Twitter Youtube
{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"princess\/golden-princess\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/travelfactory.cruisesalefinder.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}